Facebook: To “Like” or not to “Like”

Image

Facebook and I had a steady relationship for several years. We shared everything together. We had lots of friends, conversation, and laughs. But it’s over. I broke up with Facebook last week. There was just too much drama. Facebook, as it happens, didn’t want to break up. I had to break up with Facebook about 5 or 6 times before it was over. When you break up with someone after that long, you don’t realize how intertwined your lives have become. Facebook was tied into my Microsoft account, my Spotify account, my apps on phone and computer. As I said, we shared everything together, and saying goodbye wasn’t pretty. But it’s done now, and I feel great.

I think Facebook has a lot going for it. It is a great way to connect with people. It is a great way to share ideas. I don’t think it is a great way to communicate. Some people are disciplined enough that they can be on Facebook, but not get drawn into petty arguments, or cause offense to others. I am not one of those people. I can’t tell you how many times I offended people without even trying to. Sometimes I think people go around on Facebook looking to be offended. Maybe I’m wrong. But it just isn’t worth it. Not to me. As I’ve told others, I have a hard enough time in real life trying not to accidentally offend people. I don’t need another venue for it. There were too many times when I was doing Facebook when I should have been doing other, more important work, or spending time with my real friends and family. Too big of a temptation. Not to mention the fact that so often on Facebook, people would post links to videos or articles the content of which was not good for my sanctification.

One has to wonder, too, if the time for Christian support of Facebook isn’t becoming questionable. Recently, Facebook just made a huge expansion in its choices for gender. Is this something we ought to be supporting? I know that one cannot take this too far, since there are plenty of services and products that are produced by people and organizations that we would not approve. But still–this is a pretty big deal. Clearly Facebook supports the radical agenda of the homosexual movement. Let’s just say that I am glad they won’t be receiving any support from me anymore.

Friends, colleagues, members of Immanuel, family members–sorry I won’t be seeing you on Facebook anymore. I have an email address. You can look me up through the Synod website. I have a phone. Give me a call. Stop through Iowa Falls if you’re in the area. If you see me popping up on Facebook again, it is probably because someone else hacked my account and logged back in. I don’t foresee it happening, but you never know.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facebook: To “Like” or not to “Like”

  1. Ben says:

    I’m glad I’ll get to read your blog some more!

Comments are closed.