Just Another Weekend at the Beisels

It seems like there is not a day or week that goes by without some sort of crisis in our lives. Take this weekend, for example:

Crisis #1: Poor Lizzy had gotten two gerbils for Christmas and when she was changing the bedding out Saturday morning, one of them bit her and hung on quite tightly. Not knowing what else to do, she started flailing her arms and the little thing let go and went flying against her bed, dropping to the floor. I was conducting a funeral at church, so Amy was there, luckily. The poor thing died. Lizzy was distraught. Thankfully, one of Lizzy’s friends was coming over after lunch, so that helped cheer her up a bit. 

Crisis #2: Coming in the door from the garage after lunch, Theo gets his hand slammed by the screen door and cries uncontrollably for several minutes. 

Crisis #3: Susan had come home to surprise Amy for her birthday, and left after lunch. Shortly after she leaves, we get a phone call from Susan. “The car just quit on the highway.” We were both grateful that she wasn’t calling to report an accident! But, this required Amy to quickly go and get Susan and take her the rest of the way down to Ames. Meanwhile, I had called our insurance company and they set up a tow. It all went relatively smoothly. Fuel pump, most likely. 

This is just a typical weekend at our house. I guess it could be worse. But seriously! What I wouldn’t give for one calm week, with no injuries, no cars breaking down, no crisis. I’m honestly surprised I don’t have any grey hair yet. I don’t really know if anyone reads this blog anymore. Does anyone read blogs anymore? 

The good parts of this day included the following:

  • Celebrating my dear wife’s birthday with the whole family. 
  • A wonderful Divine Service, celebrating the Baptism of our Lord, and seeing my beloved flock. 
  • Eating at our local Chinese restaurant, and sharing many good laughs with my kids and wife. 
  • Listening to music from Pandora on my Denon stereo.
  • Watching Downton Abbey, Series 4, part II with Amy. 
  • Watching the kids ice-skate on our frozen River. 
  • Playing with our dog, and wrestling with my sons and listening to my daughter sing and to my other daughter play the piano. Truly nothing gives me greater joy in our family than to listen to music-making. 

If I have to endure a few crises every so often in order to have the rest of it, it’s worth it. Looking forward to going to Fort Wayne next weekend and seeing my good friends, worshiping at one of my favorite congregations on Sunday, and listening to my former choir, the Seminary Kantorei on Sunday afternoon. I look forward to good conversation, good food, and some time away from Iowa Falls, even if just a little bit. I hope the weather cooperates because if there is even a hint of wintry weather between here and there, I probably won’t go. 

Signing off for now with the Eagles playing in the background. Until next time!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just Another Weekend at the Beisels

  1. ezerwoman says:

    Yes, some people do read your blog 🙂 I often want to ask the same question, but then I remember that I haven’t had a lot of time to post any blogs of my own 😦 As to your weekend activities, it would appear that your list of “good things” was longer than your list of “bad.” Shepherding and parenting may bring gray hairs, but also a great deal of character. I think you will make it to Fort Wayne…

  2. Mary Morgret Gieseler says:

    It’s at times like this that our sainted mother used to roam around the house muttering, “Children are an heritage from the Lord. . .Children are an heritage from the Lord. . .” And stuff like this always comes in threes, at least!

  3. Yes, we read your blog, when you DO write it! LOL I can’t write mine too often now since I had a stroke in Oct. 2012. My hand has much numbness and it’s hard. But we all have life’s crises interspersed with the cute and fun things, which makes it nice. (But I only had 2 girls…)
    When you get much older like me, the crises are different. 🙂
    Wheel fell off the walker in parking lot and no wrench to put it back on…LOL
    God sure knows how to take care of everything, though, and all the goodness He gives us with Christian and family fellowship makes up for it.
    Enjoy your trip and so far, good weather.

Comments are closed.