Random Thoughts

Random thought #1: I’ve done a lot of funerals this year for WWII veterans. I especially enjoy these because of the honor guard ceremony after the Committal service is finished. The salute, the horn, the presentation of the flag, it never gets old. During the ceremony today, I couldn’t help but think that it has fallen on my generation to bury the last of the WWII vets. It will probably fall on my children’s generation to bury the Vietnam War vets. I feel a sense of honor that I get to lay these men to rest, and to comfort the survivors who mourn their deaths.

Random thought #2: It occurred to me this morning that when a person who does not share our confession comes to the altar for Holy Communion, and we Commune them, they are not only saying “Amen” to what our church teaches (though perhaps unwittingly), but we are saying “Amen” to what they believe, and to what their churches teach.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Thoughts

  1. Lawrence says:

    “… and we Commune them.”

    or is it that we Commune ‘with’ them?

    Our services are quite clear on what confessions are applied. So can we assume that all in attendance understand? Or must we judge those whom we do not specifically know? Tough call.

    >>>

    Mostly I just stopped by to say Merry Christmas.

    🙂

Comments are closed.