New Experiences in a New Place

I came to Iowa Falls last November, so missed out on the planning and preparation for Fall catechesis here. Now I’m getting a good taste of it! This is much more akin to my vicarage congregation in Norman, OK. There are classes from 5th-8th grade that we must prepare for. This year I am also working with a DCE intern from CSP who is a member here and is colloquizing into the program. It worked out for him to do his internship here, and he was already helping out with some of the education at this church anyway. It’s been a great learning experience for me so far, and we have barely begun. I think it is going to be a good year. I’ve been working hard on planning for fall confirmation classes, especially since I also must oversee an intern. I think we have a good system prepared. He is going to be using Catechetical Helps for the 7th graders, with a work book and some helpful teaching charts. I will be going through the maroon catechism with the 8th graders, and using a work book with them. This will expose both grades to all six chief parts, but in a couple of different ways. I think it is going to go really well and am excited to get started with the year.

I’ll post more on these experiences as the year progresses. One thing I am having to learn at this new place is the rule of “If someone else can do it, let them!” This is not a way of trying to weasel out of duties, but recognizing that one man simply can’t do everything that needs to be done in a church. This is a hard lesson for me to learn. I am inclined to do everything myself, thinking that I’m the only one that can do it right, or satisfactorily. I am fond of saying, “It would take less time and effort for me to just do it, than to teach someone else how to do it.” If this were to keep up, I would soon work everyone else out of a job (including my secretary!). So, I hope I can make good use of this newfound knowledge.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Experiences in a New Place

  1. Amy Beisel says:

    Don’t forget yours truly teaching 5th and 6th grades (wink, wink)! Keep up the great work.

Comments are closed.