Feel the Burn…

Why I love Iowa Falls, IA: Reason #3

I have tennis friends again! Twice now I have played with a local doctor, his son (who is on the H.S. tennis team), and someone else. First time out I was, how shall I say, very rusty. Tonight was a much different story. My serve was hitting the mark. Groundies were fairly decent. All in all, it was a good night. Won a set, lost a set. Weather was perfect. No wind, warm, lots of people out on the courts and off. I l-o-v-e getting on the court again. Except, I really need to get some new tennis shoes. I think these are about four or five years old, maybe less.

The other day I was in Iowa City at the mall, salivating at all the tennis gear at Scheel’s. It occurred to me that I haven’t bought a new racquet since I was in college, which was about 13 years ago. Ouch! I was amazed at the new frame technology they have come out with since then. I’ll probably be like those guys who started playing in the 80s, and still used their wooden and aluminum racquets in the 90’s, long after graphite had come into vogue. Now graphite’s a thing of the past. The racquets are super light-weight. Anyway, if only I had some money, that would have been a fun shopping spree!

I’m so pumped and excited to get some tennis in here. It’s nice, for a change, to have people calling me to hit, rather than me trying to seek people out. Rejoice with me!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.