The Holy Week Blinders are On!

Every pastor, I’m certain, can somewhat attest to the “Holy Week Blinder” syndrome. From about Judica (5th Sunday in Lent) until the end of Easter celebration, I go into total focus mode. Like a horse with blinders, I zero in on planning the services, preparing sermons, getting everything ready to go, so that when Holy Week comes, when Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday, and Easter Sunday services are conducted, things go (fairly) smoothly, and it is enjoyable for all the people. I won’t say I’m the most cordial person during this time, but it is not because I am trying to be uninviting or unfriendly, it is just because I am so utterly focused on the task at hand. I hope that no one gets that impression. It quite literally is like a marathon, making sure all the liturgical “t”s are crossed and “i”s are dotted. It’s enjoyable and exhilarating at the same time as being quite exhausting. I love it.

By the same token, I can think of nothing better during Holy Week than doing exactly what Christ was doing the week before he was crucified: being among his people, teaching them, feeding them, and caring for them. Rather than “hole up” somewhere by myself the entire week before Maundy Thursday, I hope to be doing exactly that. I also have a funeral on Monday. For those in the area and in the church who are reading this, here is our schedule:

Matins
Mon-Friday  8:30 a.m.

Maundy Thursday
Divine Service 7 p.m.

Good Friday
Choral Vespers 7 p.m.

Holy Saturday
Easter Vigil 7 p.m.

The Resurrection of our Lord (Easter Sunday)
Matins 6:30 a.m.
Easter Breakfast
Divine Service 10 a.m.

To all of my fellow pastors, I wish you the Lord’s blessings as you celebrate the Festival of Festivals!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Holy Week Blinders are On!

  1. To all the Pastor’s wives, hang in there! The week will go fast!

Comments are closed.