Oh, what to say??

Another year, another stomach flu. This pastor has seen better weeks. Came down with a bad sinus infection a week ago yesterday and barely had a voice on Sunday. I think it was perhaps the one and ONLY time I have ever been thankful that Communion was not offered. I say this tongue in cheek, and everyone who knows me will understand that I really wasn’t thanking God for this, but if there were a time to be thankful for such a thing, it would be that day! By Wednesday I was starting to feel like myself again, and then Wednesday night I came down with the stomach flu. Probably picked it up from the Nursing home on Tuesday afternoon, as I heard it was going around there…after I had been there. A lot of good that report did me!

Amy and the kids went down to see our daughter Susan at St. Paul’s high school in MO, while I rested at home. And rest I did! I laid around all day Thursday, and most of Friday. I finally felt like eating something Friday at about 2 p.m. I devoured a six inch Subway sandwich, and wondered if it was going to be bad for me. Nothing came of it, except a satisfied look on my face. Lazed around somemore, worked on my sermon for tomorrow, watched an interesting bit on Dateline, and went to bed. Saturday came, and am feeling better, though still a bit “urpy.” Finished sermon, got ready for Amy and kids to come back, put a fire in the fire place, made dinner, and am relaxing now to the sound of Sarah McCloughlan (don’t know how to spell that).

I’ve been too busy to even think. Two funerals in the last two weeks, and life in a bigger parish than I am used to. My body is telling me: “Please slow down.” It’s true–I have been pushing myself pretty hard the last 3 months since I have arrived here. I think that I will listen to my body. I have this idea that I have to be some kind of “super pastor” and the truth is, the people here are content just to have someone preach the Word to them and give them the “wholesome loaves” of Christ’s Word and Sacrament. I really love them. They are very enjoyable to be around. That’s part of the problem–I really like spending time with them. Still, I have to rest sometimes too. Jesus did. I guess I can. 🙂

Maybe I’ll get back to writing more regularly again. It’s amazing when you once take the pressure off yourself, how you actually feel like being productive. Maybe there is something to that.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.