A Productive Day

There is so much to do when you move. It seems to have gotten worse since I moved from seminary to my previous post. Today I got a lot done, especially considering the fact that I was carting my young kids around with me most of the day. Bank account set up; phone and internet service set up at the house; new batteries for the house phones; letter of credit written; library cards obtained; and I even got some Facebooking in. Too bad I didn’t “have time” for Morning Prayer or Vespers. Yeah, right. Some days are like that.

Yesterday I was installed as the pastor of Immanuel Lutheran Church. It was an excellent service, and Pastor Karl Bollhagen preached a great sermon on John 13. The choir sang, the Iowa District East President Brian Saunders was in attendance, and there were, I heard, about 260 people in attendance. There were several members from surrounding congregations, which was also nice. Poor Theo (2) didn’t have a nap all day. He was so tuckered out by the end, but he was a trooper.

I’m looking forward to diving into the work of the Ministry here, and meeting the many members of Immanuel. It’s quite overwhelming, in a way, to go from serving 15 on Sunday morning to 200. I will need the Lord’s help and strength in the days to come.

Lord, keep us steadfast in Your Word,
curb those who by deceit or sword
would wrest the Kingdom from your Son
and bring to naught all He has done!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.