Alive and well in Iowa Falls

My blog has been pretty “silent” lately. That’s because I have been in the process of moving. We got all of our stuff unloaded on Monday, and since then it has literally been a whirlwind trying to unpack, get phone service, dish network, and other services started up. The members of Immanuel have been absolutely gracious in welcoming us to Iowa Falls. I can’t thank them enough for getting the parsonage in order for us, and for leaving so many “goodies” in the fridge and freezer for us to eat in our first days here. Thank you, thank you!! We are grateful for all that has been done.

The kids have been enjoying themselves too–playing out in the front yard, riding bikes around the parking lot of the church, and exploring the “big house.” Lizzy was supposed to begin school today, but came down with a fever last night so hopefully tomorrow she’ll start. She was bummed, to say the least. I’ve been meeting tons of people, trying to get my books unpacked and put into my study at the church, and figuring out schedules and meeting times. It’s a bit overwhelming at times, but it is enjoyable at the same time.

Tomorrow, sadly, I have to drive back to Quincy, IL to teach a class. I have to do this two more times before Thanksgiving, and then I’m done with that. I’ll be picking up Susan from Concordia, MO to bring her back up for my installation on Sunday at 4 p.m. It will be a great day. Pastor Karl Bollhagen (my predecesor at Warsaw ironically enough) will be preaching and I am very much looking forward to hearing him. He has done wonderful things for this congregation during the vacancy, and it is obvious when talking to the members. I hope that there will be many in attendance on Sunday.

I think that I have picked up some new readers from amongst the sheep of Immanuel Lutheran Church. It would be great to have someone reading my blog again! Guess I’d better start writing again. A restful night of sleep to all. “Let Your holy angel be with me, that the evil foe may have no power over me. Amen.”

Christ be my leader by night as by day,
Safe through the darkness for He is the way
Gladly I follow my future His care
Darkness is daylight when Jesus is there.

Christ be my Teacher in age as in youth,
Drifting or doubting for He is the Truth,
Grant me to trust Him though shifting as sand,
Doubt cannot daunt me in Jesus I stand.

Christ be my Savior in calm as in strife,
Death cannot hold me for He is the Life,
Nor darkness nor doubting, nor sin and its stain
Can touch my salvation with Jesus I reign.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.