I knew I had read this somewhere

From C. F. W. Walther’s Twentieth Evening Lecture (February 27, 1885):

My Friends: When a place has been assigned to a Lutheran candidate of theology where he is to discharge the office of a Lutheran minister, that place ought to be to him the dearest, most beautiful, and most precious spot on earth. He should be unwilling to exchange it for a kingdom. Whether it is in a metropolis or in a small town, on a bleak prairie or in a clearing in the forest, in a flourishing settlement or in a desert, to him it should be a miniature paradise. Do not the blessed angels descend from heaven with great joy whenever the Father in heaven sends them to minister to those who are to be heirs of salvation? Why, then, should we poor sinners be unwilling to hurry after them with great joy to any place where we can lead other men, our fellow-sinners, to salvation?

There’s something for all of you recently called pastoral candidates to chew on as you prepare to enter your first parish.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I knew I had read this somewhere

  1. prkt says:

    Beautiful stuff from Walther.

    Sadly, for many of us, our first parish was the place where we tried to make people Lutheran and instead made people mad. When I left there to come here, I vowed not to make the same mistakes. I vowed to make new ones.

    Thank you, Pr. Beisel.

  2. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Dear prkt,

    I don’t think that one should have regrets about trying to make people Lutheran. Everyone makes mistakes, and one of mine has been not viewing my Call as a miniature paradise. I’ve also made many people mad, and most of those are no longer members, but our congregation has been much more peaceful in the last three or so years.

    I suppose if the Lord can speak from the mouth of an ass, he can use my mouth as a tool for preaching as well.

    Pastor Beisel

  3. forestboar says:

    When referring to candidates, once should not speak of their “first parish”. It assumes there will be others.

    Although I do agree with your comment about using me as a tool. Indeed, many think of me as a tool.

    Not unexpectedly, the rest think of me as the ass.

Comments are closed.