Kudos to Miss California

I don’t normally watch beauty pageants, but last night I happened to be watching when Miss California (1st runner-up) gave her final answer to a question by one of the judges on her views of homosexual marriage. I was expecting a politically correct, “non-judgmental” answer, and was pleasantly surprised. Miss California, after commenting on the freedom of Americans to live how they choose, said that she personally believed marriage should be between a man and a woman. You can read the Fox Report here. Apparently her answer sparked a shouting match in the lobby afterward.

All I can say is that it took some serious courage to say what she did, especially considering the audience at the pageant. One person commented: “I think it’s ridiculous that she got first runner-up. That is not the value of 95 percent of the people in this audience.” Okay, so why did the whole crowd roar when she gave her answer?

She did not win the pageant, and who knows whether her answer cost her the crown or not. Regardless, she has my vote. I wanted to jump up and cheer when she said that. Way to go Miss California!

*Photo courtesy of Fox News.com

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kudos to Miss California

  1. Bad Ice says:

    I clicked the link so you don’t have to. Don’t do it.

    Pete

  2. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    I spammed it. Thanks though.

Comments are closed.