A Potential Ordination Liturgical Dialog?

I think that every pastor when he is ordained should have to memorize these words of Exodus 4. Why do we think that we have to be so clever, so eloquent, so polished in our preaching and teaching? Why do we think that it is our job to convert the masses by our own talents and skills?

Oh, that we were all like Moses, lacking in eloquence. Even the Apostle Paul said: “I did not come to you with eloquent speech.”

Ordinand: “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either in the past or since you have spoken to your servant, but I am slow of speech and of tongue.”

Ordinator: “Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the LORD? Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak.”

Ordinand: “Oh, my Lord, please send someone else.”

Ordinator: “Go in peace”

Based on (Exodus 4:10-14).

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Potential Ordination Liturgical Dialog?

  1. pastorjuhl says:

    Amen.

    Thank you.

    DMJ+

  2. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    “I will be with your mouth.” Is that not just the most comforting promise that we pastors have?

  3. Rev. Jon Bakker says:

    It’s fantastic!

  4. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Think we could get this into the next Agenda? Isn’t it amazing how God always, ALWAYS chooses the weakest, most unlikely person to carry out his will. Look at all he did through Moses. Look at all he did through David. Through Paul. It amazes me how much I rely on my own strength, powers, and will when it comes to calling someone to repentance or simply proclaiming the Word to someone.

Comments are closed.