My Strange Kids

I love them. The title of this post is not meant to be a slight on them. I say “strange” because they are not like me, at least, not in this: they actually like to do manual labor. They are much more like my dear wife in this. As I write this post, Lizzy and Martin are over at the church helping Janice, our member and janitor, clean the church. They did this entirely of their own volition. I sent them outside to play. I go to check on them, and where else do I find them but in the church, vacuuming, and cleaning windows. I ask myself: “Are these my children?” And then I have to say: “Yes they are. They are also my wife’s children.” They are like her: always eager to help, lend a hand, push a broom, etc. This morning they were all excited about going to the local park and picking up trash (a church/Thrivent project).

This amazes me because I was virtually (and still am to some extent) completely the opposite. I would much rather be sitting in a chair with my pipe and a book and watching every one else do the “dirty work.” I’m not proud of this. I just know myself, and have no problem “boasting in my weaknesses.” I wish I were more willing and eager to do work like this. Honestly. It’s not that I won’t do it, but I do it reluctantly. It’s really amazing to see my kids actually jumping at the chance to help out with stuff. As a joke between us, my wife and I laughingly admit that if we lived during the Victorian era, she would probably be part of the working class and I a member of the Gentry. 🙂

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Strange Kids

  1. Lawrence says:

    With children it is about being “grown up” and doing grownup things. As they get older they’ll look to do other grownup things like sitting around reading books and the like… and not getting chores done…
    🙂

    Enjoy them at this age. And then enjoy them at that age. And then continue to enjoy them as you watch them mature. Parenting can be both painful and wonderful all at the same time.

Comments are closed.