New Bible Case

Yesterday we received the Bible case that we ordered and we were more than impressed. We have an old German family heirloom Bible with leather binding and everything, which I believe was owned by a great, great grandfather of mine (Matthias Beisel) and perhaps goes back even further. It is a beautiful work of art, and we hated to see it just sitting exposed out in the open. So we ordered a wooden case for it with a glass top. The craftsmanship on this thing is stupendous. Here are some pics:

bible-case-001

bible-case-004

bible-case-003

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Bible Case

  1. Jon says:

    I’ll never forget what a certain beloved prof at the sem used to say about the family Bible…

    “I bring it out whenever company comes over and spray a little dust on it!”

    🙂 Hope you’re doing well heading into Holy Week! Pax, Jon

  2. Sam says:

    Where did you get this from?

  3. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Jon ~ That’s hilarious. I wonder who said it… 🙂 A blessed Passiontide to you.

    Sam ~ I’m not sure exactly. I would have to ask my wife since she placed the order. I’ll get the info for you.

  4. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Jon–well if you’re not going to use something, you might as well put it in a safe, dry place right? Like what you do with your reliquiae, right? 🙂

  5. Here is the website for the company we used. It is excellent craftsmanship. The joints are not pieced together with screws. They used wooden joints and is seamless. We are so pleased with it (and no, I am not boasting…just glad this treasure will be well preserved!).

    http://www.meadowsdisplaycases.com

  6. Jon says:

    About my reliquiae…you’re RIGHT!

    🙂

  7. Kingsley says:

    Hello. I’ve been searching for a glass face Bible box just like this one for my father-in-law’s Bible. Can you tell me where you purchased this from? Thank you!

Comments are closed.