No Neutral Ground in the Kingdom of Heaven

There are many people who will say: “I don’t hate Jesus. I’m not against him. I’m just not for him. I’m neutral.”  People who don’t take a position either way think that they are not opposed to Jesus. They think that there is neutral ground. Not so, according to Christ: “Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters.” There is no neutral ground in the Kingdom of Heaven. Those who say they are not opposed to Jesus or to his followers but who are not followers themselves are actually against him, if I read Jesus’ words correctly.

These words also go against the lukewarm-ness that is so prevalent in our society and church today. Peter Kreeft says:

The danger in earlier ages was anger; ours is sloth, indifference, and depression.

I think this sums it up nicely, and explains my greatest frustration as a pastor. I think of the words of Revelation: “Would that you were either hot or cold…but since you are lukewarm I will spit you out of my mouth.” Would that people were either in first gear or reverse…but since they are in neutral… Would that people were either super sinful or super saintly, but they are in between somewhere, not passionate about anything. Kreeft also says that the greatest problem today is not immorality but amorality. How true!! The biggest vices in these congregations are not immorality but indifference; sloth.

There is no neutral ground. Either we are with him or against him. And if we are with him, if we believe in Him, then we are on the winning team. Our sins are covered; our traitorous deeds are forgotten in the blood of Christ. Thanks be to God!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Neutral Ground in the Kingdom of Heaven

  1. Jen says:

    A friend of mine just left the Baptist church and is trying-on Lutheranism. The pastor told her at the membership class that “Lutherans are lukewarm”. I was sickened when she told me this. I’m Lutheran and I’m not lukewarm. If I thought Lutheranism was a Christianity of lukewarmness, I’d be gone. I don’t know what’s worse… a pastor calling Lutherans lukewarm, or telling an ex-baptist looking for a home that the one she’s visiting is lukewarm. I want to vomit.

  2. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    I agree with you–it’s not that Lutherans are lukewarm. There is nothing ‘lukewarm’ about Lutheranism. It is often the people who sit in the pews, for whom the doctrine of Christianity does not have any impact.

  3. Jen says:

    Why do they come if it has no impact? Why does the powerful Word not have impact?

Comments are closed.