Oh How Things Have Changed

The other day I took the kids to McDonald’s down in Quincy for supper. My 13 year-old daughter wanted one of those McDonald’s latte’s that they offer now. I knew she had brought some of her money with her, so I said that she could buy one for herself if she wanted. I fought back the urge to say, “Why do you need coffee? You don’t need coffee. Give me a break!” or “When I was a kid, coffee was considered an “adult” beverage.”

What can I say? There is nothing inherently wrong with drinking coffee. It has caffeine, just like Coke and other fountain drinks. I really have no grounds to say, “No” to such a request. But seriously, when I was a kid (there, I said it), coffee was a “grown-up” drink. The last, and I mean, LAST beverage I would have wanted when I was 13 was coffee. But now all the kids are drinking it. From my point of view, it is a case of kids wanting to act grown-up, or pretend to be adults. We all did that in various ways when we were younger. I doubt they think of it that way.

When we were up in Chicago over New Year’s this year, my wife and I were out for dinner and then went to Starbuck’s afterward and marveled at how many “youngsters” there were hanging out there, drinking their ‘lattes’. In fact, it was so full (because a movie had just let out) that there were some adults waiting for a seat, which we gladly gave to them when we were done.

To me, coffee in any form will always and ever be an “adult” beverage, something that grown-ups drink. I guess I’m already starting to become outdated. Yikes. And I’m only 33 (going on 34). I felt it the other day when they played a new “remake” by Carrie Underwood on American Idol called “Home Sweet Home.” This was one of my favorite songs as a kid by none other than Motley Crue. And now it has been remade. Funny thing is, I actually like the remake. No gray hairs yet though.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh How Things Have Changed

  1. Rev. Shane R. Cota says:

    Well, old man, I’m slightly older than you, and I’ve been drinking coffee since I was 4 years old! Regularly. Of course, early on, it was probably half milk. But I have been enjoying it consistently ever since. And as you know, it obviously didn’t stunt my growth!

  2. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Hey Shane, good to hear from you. That’s funny. I remember asking my mom for a sip of her coffee a LONG time ago, but that was about it. I didn’t really drink coffee until I was at seminary.

  3. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Oh, and my wife says that her sister drank coffee and they all said it would stunt her growth. Well, she’s 6′ tall almost.

  4. Wyldeirishman says:

    Did you really say “no grounds to say ‘no?’

    That’s accidental, right? No one in their right mind would purposefully make use of such an obvious coffee pun! 🙂

    Our kids don’t want coffee so much (but then, they’re only 9, 7, and4, respectively)…but daddy’s beer continues to intrigue them…perhaps it’s because it’s very often the same color as the coffee (particularly around this time of year, as our 7-year old’s Baptismal birthday happens to be on St. Pat’s).

    Apologies for not having made better use of our ‘networking’ friendship on the WT; raising the family is an exercise in perpetual exhaustion (this week, it was head lice; last week, influenza…blaaargh).

    Slainte,

    Sean

Comments are closed.