The Brutal Honesty of Children…and Christians

“You look like a leprechaun.” So said my 6 year old daughter when I came out into the living room this morning. I’m dressed in “civies” today because I’m going to meet with someone about a part-time teaching position next Fall at a local community college. My clothes have a certain green “theme” to them, which is why she said I looked like a leprechaun. Parents really have to have a thick skin when it comes to these things. Oh, and pastor’s wives too. For some reason people in the church like to comment about my wife’s appearance on Sunday (for better or for worse). “That color doesn’t look right on you.” “What did you do to your hair?” “You look way too skinny.” “Is there something wrong with your face?” “Why is your face all blotchy?” “Are you pregnant (again)?”

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Brutal Honesty of Children…and Christians

  1. Bad Ice says:

    In my day I would have said you looked like “Mr. Green Jeans.” I almost forgot about him.

    Pete

Comments are closed.