Where the Theological Rubber Hits the Road

Being a pastor is easy…until you are sitting face to face with a wayward Christian, or talking on the phone to someone who has been absent from Church for a long time. All the learning, reading, and studying in the world isn’t worth a darn unless it can be applied to an individual Christian who is hurting, struggling, or caught in the bramble of sins. I can write a sermon or teach a Bible class and feel pretty good about myself. I can conduct the liturgy and celebrate the Sacrament with the highest dignity and reverence, and feel even better about myself. But put me in front of an individual who needs to be guided into the Way of Truth, and suddenly I am not feeling so good about myself. I leave such meetings wondering if in all my stammering and stuttering the Word of God got through to the person, and if anything will come of it. It is never as pretty and clear cut as you think it will be or plan it to be. But this is where the theological rubber hits the road. I have said it before and will say it again: anyone (okay, almost anyone) can properly divide and apply Law and Gospel in a pre-written sermon. It is quite another matter to do so with no script, in the presence of an individual. Suddenly being a pastor ain’t so easy. God give us preachers and pastors wisdom, so that by his grace we may know how to prescribe the proper medicine when the time comes.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where the Theological Rubber Hits the Road

  1. Weedon says:

    Amen! Amen! Amen!

  2. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Thanks.

Comments are closed.