Fear of Making Mistakes

Few things immobilize a person more than the fear of making mistakes. The person who has such a phobia never progresss, never takes risks, never accomplishes much. For me this fear takes the form of not wanting to call on inactives for fear that I won’t be able to say the right thing to get them back to Church. When it comes to writing, whether papers or sermons, the fear of making mistakes can keep something from getting done, or make it take forever, or simply not get done at all. It is an irrational fear, because it is impossible to get through life without making mistakes, and in making mistakes one learns valuable lessons. This is one thing I am going to be working very diligently on this year is “getting over” this fear, risking everything for the sake of men’s souls, and for the benefit of my own. I hate the feeling of being immobilized because I don’t want to do something wrong. The bottom line is, straying church members must be approached. I must be more afraid of God than I am of them, than my own fears of making mistakes or doing things wrong.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fear of Making Mistakes

  1. Good for you, Paul! This sort of thing calls for bravery. God’s blessings be on you as you do this.

  2. Rev. Mike Grieve says:

    A meet, right, and salutary desire. I pray this goes well for you. I could use to do more of this also. Let’s talk about it more some time.

Comments are closed.