Midweek Service and the Two Natures in Christ

We had our first midweek service tonight. It went really well. We used the Service of Prayer and Preaching from LSB and I thought it went well, considering its novelty. At one church we just spoke the canticles together, since it was new. At the other, the congregation sang the refrain and I sang all the other parts, and I really thought that went well. The refrain is easy enough and repetitive enough to learn quickly. For my homily, I preached on the Genus Idiomaticum, which has to do with the way the properties or attributes of each nature are communicated to the whole person of Christ. Next week will be the Genus Maiestaticum, and so on. I didn’t use any Latin, but tried to explain them in simple terms. Dr. Scaer’s Christology book was really helpful in my preparation. I would encourage any pastors to tackle this theme for Advent Midweek sermons sometime. It is a good review, and you never really learn something well until you have to do the hard work of teaching it, and putting it into understandable terms. I don’t know how others felt, but my wife said she got a lot out of it. I used for the Scripture readings first the story of the Calming of the Storm, since in it Jesus exhibits both his divine and human natures (sleeps as only a man can do, and rebukes the wind as only God can do). Then I used one from Acts 20 in which Paul says that God obtained the Church “by his own blood.” This is a verse that the fathers of Lutheran orthodoxy often use in discussing the relationship of the two natures. It has been very informative for me, and meditative.

As an aside, last night I took my youngest daughter, Lizzy (6) to the Ballet in Keokuk. Someone lent us their season tickets and we grabbed a quick bite to eat beforehand and then went to the Ballet. Lizzy is really into Ballet, and loved it. She kept saying afterward, “they jumped so high!”

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Midweek Service and the Two Natures in Christ

  1. Sam says:

    If you want, I have an easier setting of the canticles from the Service of Prayer and Preaching. It essentially has one of the four parts removed. The NT canticle is manageable without modification, but the OT can be a bear. Just send me an e-mail and I’ll drop them to you in e-mail.

    Sam

  2. Bad Ice says:

    Beisel,

    I am preaching on the Great O Antiphons. I used the same service as you, but your sis said she felt off balance during the service. In place of the OT canticle I had a solo, in place of the NT canticle I had a verse from “O Come Emmanuel”. I chose that since I am preaching on the Great O Antiphons.

    Have Sam send you that service and forward it to me.

    Thanks.

    Great story; my twin brother had just purchased LSB but didn’t have Service Builder yet. He thought the O Antiphons fit the tune of Veni Emmanuel because they are basically on the same page, and..well… the thing of course bombed when the congregation tried to sing it.

    he now has service builder….THANKS CPH for that builder I use it all the time(so does my brother)

    pete

  3. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    That’s what I don’t like about Service Builder–it makes it too easy to substitute other hymns and songs for parts of the liturgy. 🙂

  4. Bad Ice says:

    Does that mean you won’t send it? :>

    pete

  5. Sam says:

    Rev. Bad Ice… 🙂

    If you go to my blog, leave a comment (with your e-mail address in the proper field) and I’ll send you those files.

    Sam

Comments are closed.