Is This The Best We Can Do?

When I think of all the intelligent, qualified, and articulate leaders out there in our country, and then I look at the two major contenders for President, I can’t help but think: “Is this the best we can do?” Honestly. Where are the wise men of our age? I know it is politics, but one would think that in a country as big as ours, we could have some better choices for our elected leaders.

Barack O. will undoubtedly win this election, and that’s fine. We’ll survive. I don’t know if our liberty will though. That is my greatest fear about the future of this country: its ultimate loss of liberty. The sad thing is the people are just letting their liberty get yanked right out from under them, and they don’t mind a bit, so long as their health care gets paid. I’m not confusing religion with politics. There is nothing particularly religious about my political views. I don’t believe that God is the God of the Republicans only. I just hate to see the downfall of a free society like ours.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Is This The Best We Can Do?

  1. What annoys me is how NPR this morning has all these democrats saying that this is a victory for freedom and democracy–as if a McCain victory would have spelled slavery and fascism!

  2. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Good point. I love how this election isn’t about race. Really. It isn’t about race. At all. Even in the least bit. Don’t you believe me?

  3. Bad Ice says:

    OK Beisel,

    Name the “intelligent, qualified, and articulate leaders out there in our country” I bet a six pack of cheap beer you can’t get past Fred and Palin.

    Pete

  4. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Senator Rick Santorum. There. You owe me a six pack.

  5. Bad Ice says:

    Santorum is singular. I look forward to my Mil’s Best Light.

    Sounds like Fred is slated for the elephant chairmanship.

    BTW I have a bumper sticker on my red car that reads “Read my lipstick!” with the subscript “Palin for VP ’08”

    To answer my question I could only list.

    Newt and Forbes.

    But both have as little chance of being elected as Santorum.

    The only new name I could add is Petraeus. But I know nothing about his politics.

    Face it, the list is short.

    But who are the leaders in the LCMS? Is K the best we can do?

    Looking ahead will the traveling and translating H-man be our hope? Will he be the one that will be the voice speaking to the laity and ordained calling us back to a Christ centered synod?

    Who?

    Who are the conservative leaders in the LCMS that are electable?

    Pete

  6. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    I think the same applies to the Church. But my question is why do we always have to go with “who is electable”? Why not get “the best”?

  7. Bobby Jindal.

    And what’s wrong with Harrison?

  8. Bad Ice says:

    Dan,

    I think Harrison is “the man”. I hope he is our next SP. I wrote “the traveling and translating H-man” because I thought it summed him up pretty well. He seems to have executive and theological acumen that the job calls for.

    I really wanted to know who else might be electable. Is there a Palin like candidate just needing the opportunity to be introduced to the synod?

    pete

  9. Jeff Flake. I got more. 🙂

    I guess my question is, who’s good but not “electable”? Because from what I’ve read and heard Pr. Harrison seems to be both.

  10. IndianaJane says:

    I second Jindal and Palin, and add Mike Pence to the list. Mike is articulate, conservative, principled, and just beginning to come to national prominence. He’s also quite easy to look at, which can be a help in getting elected. 🙂 He’s currently in the House, but is the most frequent name mentioned to run for Dick Lugar’s senate seat.

  11. Bad Ice says:

    Dan,

    Let’s hear more candidates for the synod. I have one: Nabil Nour. Nabil is a VP for our district. The Holy Spirit worked faith in his heart through a pastor. He is confessional, reads greek, Hebrew and Arabic. Strongly Pro-life. Was literally born in Bethlehem. He speaks his mind. Dynamic personality and his motto is “foot washer”. He also possesses the organizational skill necessary to run a bureaucracy.
    http://www.afootwasher.org/

    I think all current DP’s should be automatically disqualified otherwise it is just the same juice, different color.

    Pete

Comments are closed.