What’s Wrong With Trick-or-Treating?

On Halloween night I took Lizzy & Martin trick-or-treating and couldn’t help but notice the small number of people out despite the absolutely beautiful weather. Where were they all at? Answer: down at the community center at a “Hallelujah Night” party put on by folks from area churches (primarily the Calvary Chapel). What’s the big deal? Why do people want to get rid of trick-or-treating? What is so evil about it? I guess I must not be as spiritually mature as those folks.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s Wrong With Trick-or-Treating?

  1. I wasn’t home for Halloween but I was told that there were a lot of high schoolers dressing like prostitutes and slutty characters.

    Otherwise I’m with ya. 🙂

  2. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    I have no doubts that people will abuse it. I can remember doing some pretty dastardly stuff on Halloween as a yute. But…does that mean it should be spoiled for everyone?

  3. Marlena says:

    Lol, Dan. I hear ya. Highschoolers? Trying to find a costume for my 3-year-old daughter was interesting. Some of these “costumes” are completely made up characters too.

    It seems if you stick the word “fairy” or “princess” or “diva” at the end of the description, it’s a totally acceptable costume. Or, just throw on some lycra pants and a halter top and you are Hannah or Sharpay. You could be a “pirate” and have a totally cute costume. But if you go as a “Pirate Princess”, you suddenly have a lot less clothing to wear.

    One of my “favorites” this year was what I can only describe as “Little Red Riding Hood Tween Stripper” and “Indian Princess Showing Butt Cheek”.

    I mean, I’m no prude, but I think there should be some age appropriate awareness on the parents’ part regarding a toddler or tween costume.

Comments are closed.