Newsflash…Alcohol and Nicotine are not illegal substances!

I don’t consider myself a smoker, though I do enjoy a pipe occasionally. Neither am I a heavy drinker. However, I find it annoying that drinking and smoking are treated almost like illegal activities by the government and especially by school drug programs. Already both Illinois and Iowa have adopted no-smoking policies inside businesses. What’s next–the home? The car? I was playing tennis one day over by the Keokuk High School and listened with amazement as the announcer at the nearby football game explained to everyone the school’s no-smoking policy on school grounds. This includes your car, if you are parked in the school parking lot. I felt like I should hide my pipe that was in my car. I used to have a no-smoking rule in my car, but just out of spite I have allowed myself to smoke my pipe in it now (not the Suburban though. We have to have at least one decent smelling vehicle 🙂

Consider also the way alcohol is viewed by schools.  School anti-drug programs put alcohol right in the same category as dope and meth, without indicating that it is legal to drink alcohol at a certain age. Does anyone else find this just disturbing? What happens is that the kids come home and see their parents enjoying an evening quaff and think that they are breaking some kind of law. They might as well just outlaw smoking and drinking alcohol completely if they don’t want people doing it. But…heaven forbid, they would have to give up their tax money on it!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Newsflash…Alcohol and Nicotine are not illegal substances!

  1. I think equating all drug use as “drug abuse” is a kind of moral equivalence that really does cause societal harm. I think it also confuses children and lulls them into a jaded misbelief.

    i.e.
    Taking 2 Ibuprofen right away instead of 1 is drug abuse.
    Smoking is drug abuse.
    Drinking alcohol is drug abuse.
    Smoking marijuana is drug abuse.
    Using methamphetamine is drug abuse.

    These all appear to be equal, but while Ibuprofen or nicotine will not make you cross the center-line and kill someone in on-coming traffic, the others may.

    Children with this moral equivalency will see “drug abuse” happening all around them all the time. When they see few or no consequences, it lulls them into thinking that everything they heard about drug abuse was exaggerated. This results in them taking unnecessary risks.

    AND — BTW —
    Smoking has been shown to shorten lifespan by an average of 1-7 years. Homosexuality shortens a man’s lifespan by about 20 years. Which is more dangerous? Why do the schools rail against tobacco and encourage children to experiment with homosexuality?

  2. Rev. Paul L. Beisel says:

    Great comment! You put it much better than I did in my post. Moral equivalence is exactly right. You voiced my fears perfectly. Thanks for commenting!

  3. Glen Piper says:

    It can also cause parental authority and/or esteem to be subtly undercut/eroded by the gov’t school agenda. Case in point: At a wedding reception, my wife and I each got a refreshing adult beverage of our choice. This greatly distressed our daughter, who had gotten drilled into her at school that drinking is bad because, among other things, drunk driving happens. Only after much reassuring was she (mostly) placated that her mom & I were not doing anything wrong or dangerous, despite what the zero-tolerance zealots at school had been saying.

Comments are closed.