Reformation Day and One Heck of a Lucky Pastor

Like most folks in the MO Synod, we celebrated the Reformation Festival today, albeit a few days early. We do this with many feasts because if we tried to hold them on the actual day, we would probably be preaching to empty pews. I used a hymn today that I have not used before for Reformation, but thought it was fitting: “Fight the good fight with all thy might.”

I also wanted to say a word of thanks to my congregation, who graciously gave me a significant raise for the next year to make up for a couple of years without one (and another mouth to feed!). They also gave me a bonus to get us through the end of the year. Afterward I told them that I wished my brothers in Office could be as blessed as I am, for many serve congregations that have no financial woes, and still pay their pastors below poverty level. This congregation, like the poor widow in the Gospel, is giving out of its poverty to support the ongoing ministry here. This will be a huge relief to us and will help to make up for the car payment we unfortunately had to add this summer. Ugh. Thank you, dear saints in Warsaw and Keokuk.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.