Back from St. Michael’s

I spent Sun. and Mon. in Fort Wayne, IN at the St. Michael’s Liturgical Conference. My hosts, Barb and Gary Comer, were more than gracious. They belong to St. John’s Lutheran Church in Bingen and they live in Hoagland, IN. They literally wined and dined me. Tues. morning before heading home I went to an early-bird Bible Study with them, after which we went out for breakfast at Nine Mile restaurant on HWY 27.

I also enjoyed my time at Redeemer, serving as deacon in the Mass for St. Michael’s Day, and leading Midday Prayer. I especially liked Rev. Todd Peperkorn’s topic: “Bored with preaching?” Pastor David Petersen preached a marvelous homily at the Divine Service Monday morning, reminding us that if no one else is listening to our sermons, the angels certainly are. They love our sermons, for they love the death of Christ. They love Good Friday. Great homily. I’m glad I went. Now its back to reality once again. It was good to be home.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back from St. Michael’s

  1. Rev. Eric J Brown says:

    Bingen is where my dad did his field work. That was where I was at for Church for two years. . . a good place.

  2. Rev. James Leistico says:

    ever been to Three Kings in Hoagland? good food

  3. Rev. Paul Beisel says:

    I’ve heard of 3 Kings, but don’t think I’ve ever eaten there.

Comments are closed.