Sermon Prep and Other Stuff

It was a long week. I couldn’t get two lines out for a sermon. I finally finished it up this morning before church. I would have used an old one, but there weren’t any that I really felt moved to use. I hate weeks like that. It always puts me in a foul mood on the weekend. Maybe it is something to do with being out of town the weekend before. For some reason it always seems like I am just not myself for about a week after being gone somewhere. Does anyone else have this problem?

This morning was the first day of Sunday School and Bible Class back over at Warsaw. During the summer months I go over to Keokuk immediately after Warsaw’s service and teach Bible class. This gives me a chance to interact with a couple of other people there that I don’t normally get to. Martin (3) was in Sunday School today with his older sister Lizzy (6) and after church I asked him how S.S. was and he said: “My whole self was bored. My hands, my legs, and even my forehead.” I asked him if his eyelashes were bored too and he said that they were mad. And then he made an angry face. Brings back memories of Sunday School when I was a kid. I remember disliking it very much, but apparently my teachers told my parents that I was always able to answer all the questions. Funny how that works.

I hope this week goes better. I hope that I can get back into the swing of things and be productive again. I’m looking forward to St. Michael’s conference at the end of this month in Fort Wayne. Then on the 10th we have our Oktoberfest at the Parsonage. My mom will be here, as will her brother Mervyn and wife Judy Bauer. Will have a great time, I’m sure. On Sunday my mom and I will head up to Kewanee for Fritz Eckardt’s Oktoberfest. Then October 20-22 I have the CID Fall Church Workers’ Conference. October is always a busy month, but I really love this time of year. I don’t sweat as badly in my study (no air-conditioning) and lots to think about.

Hope all you readers have a great week!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sermon Prep and Other Stuff

  1. Rev. Eric J Brown says:

    I have done most of my sermon prep today and I will write a draft Monday morning. If I don’t have a rough draft of the sermon done by Tuesday at noon – I become incredibly grumpy. The latest I went was last year when I was feverish and kept waiting for the fever to break. Even then I got up at 2 in the morning Friday night/Saturday morning and wrote it. I had to.

    Must. . . have. . . work. . . done. . . early.

  2. Rev. James Leistico says:

    Yeah, I’ve got that problem. Week before last was particularly bad – even considered re-preaching something from 3 years ago. This past weekend was only a little better. My “deadline” is having at least a rough draft done by supper on Saturday night… which I didn’t meet the last few weeks. I definitely lose my patience with the family when I’ve still got a bunch to do on the sermon on Saturday night.
    Here’s to trying to do better this week.

  3. The Dali Lutheran says:

    I try really, really hard to have my sermon done on Wednesday. Last week, (Pent 17)my sermon block ended on Friday with a bit of work on Saturday afternoon.
    Today I am starting work on Pent 18 and am trying really hard to not remember the sermon I preached 3 years ago. But it is stuck there just waiting, begging to be preached again.
    I don’t know who said that writing sermons is like giving birth. Whoever said it meant in a way of the pain of labor and joy at the end. I’ll agree and add that if I have to give birth I don’t want the same child I had three years ago, but the newly born might look like her older brother.

    I don’t know how you “historic” one year guys do it.
    (I put the quotes on historic just to tweak the “historic” guys. Boromir would ask how long must a series be used before it becomes historic? The answer from historic guys is “many thousands of years would pass, and still the three year series would not be historic”)

    pete

  4. Rev. Paul Beisel says:

    Thanks for those comments guys. I appreciate them. There are good weeks and there are bad. No getting around it. sometimes the ideas are there, sometimes they are not. It was a bad week. Hopefully this one will be better. My general practice is to look at the text on Tuesday, but I usually don’t start doing any writing until Wed.

Comments are closed.