My Wife…

…has an interesting take on the choice of Palin for V.P. I think she would probably make a better president than John McCain actually. But I do think that the Common Sense Mom (my wife) makes some good points. When it comes to current affairs and political matters, I usually look to her because she is usually spot on.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Wife…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Just watched her on tv–I think she is GREAT!
    Rachel

  2. Rev. Richard A. Heinz says:

    Your Reverend Mrs. has some good points, as does the Good Doctor Stuckwisch. On the other hand, I thought her speech was outstanding, and also find myself thinking she’s excellent.

    As some have commented to Rick, the Left-hand kingdom does not recognize the Lord and His Word. Therefore, the best theological scenario is unlikely.

    So while we may have concerns with her vocational choices, we can rejoice in her positions on sanctity of life, etc.

  3. Rev. Paul Beisel says:

    We enjoyed listening to her as well tonight. She had some great zingers. I am still wary of the fact that McCain is against extreme interrogation methods, and does not take a strong stance on illegal immigration. I also don’t like the way McCain is so concerned about “reaching across the aisle.” I read some of the stuff at Stuckwisch’s blog and found myself agreeing with Fr. Hollywood more often than others. We really have allowed the whole order of creation to become topsy-turvy.

  4. Rev. Richard A. Heinz says:

    Agreed. This is one of those years that the ideal men either sat out (like Rick Santorum)or were ignored by too many, and did not survive early primaries.

    My favorite sign for the campaign year? A “Reagan 80” sign,with “80” crossed out, and a handwritten “08” replaced it. 🙂

    Dream on, huh?

  5. Jane says:

    I am only coming at this from a purely pragmatic, political point of view. I think Sarah Palin can say things that–in our current climate–white men can’t without being shouted down. It isn’t right; it doesn’t say positive things about our culture, but it’s true. Her being on the ticket has given it new life and as much as I don’t like McCain, it gives me hope that our next president won’t be Obama.

  6. Rev. Paul Beisel says:

    Jane, that’s pretty much my thought as well.

  7. Past Elder says:

    I’m with Jane. It’s not right, and is yet another way in which we now view positions and beliefs in terms of anything but are they true or false, but it is the way it is.

    At different points in my life, I have worked enthusiastically for the Democrats and the Republicans. Fact is, and as one Republican operative told me, a political party exists to win elections, end of story; it is not an assembly of believers.

    We the church are. I wish we would stop acting as if Jesus founded the Republican Party rather than the catholic church.

  8. Rev. Paul Beisel says:

    I’m not sure who it is you are referring to. I don’t know of anyone who acts like Jesus founded the Republican party. I happen to like the fact that generally Republicans are pro-life and anti-big government. That hasn’t been the case with many of our reps and senators, but generally this is true. It’s what the Republican party represents: lower taxes, right to life, free market and enterprise, etc.

  9. Past Elder says:

    It’s a figure of speech. What it refers to is the widespread tendency among religious “conservatives” to act as if the Republican Party is “our” party, and get all excited thinking Republican victories are somehow Christian victories.

    I don’t think it makes the slightest difference toward the spread of the Gospel who the nominees of either party are or which party wins.

    If one were to abstract a political philosophy from the last eight years of Republican administration, smaller government, fiscal responsibility and free markets would hardly be what comes to mind.

    In fact, if one were to abstract a political philosophy from the last eight years of Republican administration, I’m not sure anything at all would come to mind.

    Which is why I predict an Obama landslide.

  10. Rev. Paul Beisel says:

    I don’t equate a Republican victory with a “Christian Victory.” But I really enjoy current affairs and politics. I get excited about political conservatism. I rejoice when I see someone like Palin taking it to the libs. I realize that it has little to do with my religion. But it’s a little pietistic to frown upon someone for getting excited about what goes on in the political arena.

  11. Past Elder says:

    There’s no frown intended.

    I’ve been into current affairs and politics since I was a kid in the Eisenhower years.

Comments are closed.