On Vacation!!

Last Sunday my family and I headed out on our vacation. It’s taking us up to South Dakota to see my sister and bro-in-law and then out to western South Dakota to see Mt. Rushmore, and then down to Brule, NE for my wife’s brother’s ordination, and then back across Nebraska and Iowa home. I’m hoping I’ll get to see my choir director from Concordia College, “Dad” Martens (Pellecans will know exactly who I’m talking about!).

So far it hasn’t been much of a vacation for Amy, who is having to deal with a sick baby. He started a fever the day we got to Redfield, S.D. Yay. Oh joy. This is the stuff memories are made of. Our drive here was not the most, well, enjoyable. We pushed it too far, and the kids were all being fairly difficult. But, we’re here, and yesterday we spent a few hours at the Redfield pool and had some fun. Martin kept wanting to go on the “big slide.” And he would only go on it with me. I lost count at about 20 times. It was really cute.

I really hope the kids get well. I’ve got a nasty little cough myself, but it is bearable with some strong cough syrup or Benedryl. Mostly I pity my dear wife, who just can’t seem to get a break. Yesterday my bro-in-law grilled us up some fantastic steak, and then last night I took my nephews and eldest daughter to a local drive-in theater and saw Kung-Fu Panda. Great movie. Must see. We loved it.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Vacation!!

  1. Rev. James Leistico says:

    we had to deal with sickies on our trip to California last month. yuck.

    so, let’s see, your sister now has a brother, a father-in-law, a husband, a brother-in-law, and soon to be a second who are all ordained? (or does Pete have yet another brother I don’t know about?)

    I actually met Pete’s dad 3 years ago on vacation to my wife’s family reunion in Spearfish – very friendly. 6 years ago the reunion was in Redfield. We head out for this year’s reunion tomorrow – but it is up near Mackinaw, MI. (No Utechts there, right?)

    oh, btw, my wife is now pregnant with our fourth child!

  2. Rev. James Leistico says:

    oops… I just re-read that the ordination is for YOUR b-i-l, not your sister’s. still, that’s a lot of pastors to be connected to.

  3. Rev. Paul Beisel says:

    Right–Amy’s brother Jon Dickmander is getting ordained in Brule, NE. The Utechts are everywhere 🙂

  4. Rev. Jonathan C. Watt says:

    You know SD is REALLY God’s country. Say “Hi” as you speed by on I-90.

Comments are closed.