Happy Father’s Day!

Today I did a 2 1/2 hr. tour of sand-bagging duty at the Water Works Station in Warsaw. This was hard and exhausting work. I have a new-found appreciation for guys who have to do this sort of thing all the time. By the end, I was a filthy mess. I had a lot of fun too, though. It was nice to get down and dirty with other Warsaw folks. Members of the Illinois National Guard were there too. I certainly got an earful. That’s River life for you. In some ways I felt like Isaiah: “I am a man of unclean lips and I live amongst a people of unclean lips.” I had to laugh inwardly several times at some of the crude speech, even by the women nearby. It’s not that I hadn’t heard it before, or even that I hadn’t at one time or another spoken that way before. I went to public schools my whole life until college. It was just humorous in a way. It was neat to see everyone out there working hard together.

I wasn’t sure this morning if I would make it to my service in Keokuk, IA because they were saying that the bridge would be closed by noon. I found out this morning after my first service that the bridge was to stay open until 6:00 p.m. so I went over. It still took me about 1/2 hour to get there because I had to go around HWY 96 instead of up the River Road. And then, as I got close to the bridge, there was a LONG line of cars waiting to go across. You could see water on the right side of the road, and they only had the left two lanes open. I was taking video of everything while I was driving.

After the service, I went to Wal-Mart to get some groceries (and water!). Amy called me while I was in the check out line to tell me that there was a really bad storm approaching, and sure enough–it was a bad one. It threatened hail, so I drove quickly up to a gas station to put the van under the awning. This proved silly, since the storm winds were so strong that had there been hail, it would have pelted the van anyway. I thought that a tornado was coming…seriously! The wind started whipping around and I had the stupid nozzle in the gas tank, and gas was spewing everywhere. I hurriedly pulled it out, and got back in the van and drove off back toward Wal-Mart, where I waited for things to calm down a bit. Thankfully, no hail or tornados (except possibly one down by Alexandria, MO). I made it back across the River safely and back home, and set out to do some sand-bagging. It was a jam-packed Father’s Day.

Oh, by the way, today in church we sang “Savior Again To Thy Dear Name We Raise.” This was a childhood favorite, and now a favorite memory of my father, who had a great voice, but would rarely sing out during church…except on this song (and a few others). It always gets me a bit choked up to sing it. I can see now why people have emotional connections to certain hymns.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Father’s Day!

  1. David says:

    A dear woman in my congregation is fond of that hymn too.

    Fortunately, the Kankakee River is not in danger of flooding Momence, though it was a bit above flood stage last week. My in-laws along the Rock River in southern Wisconsin aren’t so lucky. They are “enjoying” the highest river stage ever recorded; some 2.5-3 feet above the previous all-time highest stage. We are supposed to go there next week, but if things don’t change we might not make it. Time will tell.

  2. Rev. James Leistico says:

    a friend of mine has a problem with the hymn “Earth and All Stars” because the “loud building workers'” language is similar to what you heard while sandbagging… not exactly singing a new song to the Lord.

Comments are closed.