A General Update

I haven’t updated my blog for a while. I thought since we were now in the non-Festival half of the Church Year, I would modify my blog appearance accordingly. For a little bit I thought about going to WordPress, because of its variety of templates. But then I decided that I didn’t have time to fool around with another blog host, and decided instead to just change the appearance a bit on mine.

Today was a productive day. I finished picking hymns and planning services from now until the end of the church year. I have never done it this far in advance before (usually every couple of months), but I was on a roll, and decided to get it done. That will be nice. My organists will be happy too. I also got the bulletins done, copied, and folded and in just a little bit here, after my dear wife gets home from her walk, I will go and pray Vespers. School is out now for the kids, and life has slowed down a bit, which is nice.

My wife got her hair done the other day, and it literally took almost all day. But…the results were fabulous. She really likes it, as do I. She got it cut in a modified “bob” and it looks really cute. Of course, she looked cute before as well, but I really think this is her style. It fits her well.

Last week, I spent a couple of days down in KS at my mom’s with Lizzy and Martin. We all had a great time. One of the reasons I went down was to see a high school classmate of mine, Henrik Christensen, who is suffering (once again) with brain cancer. He’s in pretty bad shape, and I was able to visit with him for about :45 minutes. He can’t do much of anything by himself right now, but he can talk somewhat. He is very tired a lot. It is sad. He was the #1 player on our tennis team, and once he and I won a doubles tourney in Miami, OK in the summer.

Speaking of tennis, that is another thing I have been getting back into again. My friend and I have been going about 3 times a week for a couple of weeks now. At age 33, I haven’t lost my speed or quickness, but it takes twice as long to recover. 🙂 It’s been a blast. The weather has been great, and we just got hooked up with some guys from the Keokuk High School tennis team. It looks like I’ll have some guys to hit with this summer! Yesterday we played some doubles with the high school coach and another guy, and did pretty well. My arm was hurting, but I think we didn’t warm up well enough.

Well, Theo’s waking now, and I’ve got to attend to him. I’ll post some more pictures of the family soon. Cheers!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Family, Friends, Kids, Tennis. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A General Update

  1. Dan @ Necessary Roughness says:

    Nice and simple. I’m kind of partial to green, myself. 🙂

Comments are closed.