The New Church Year Has Begun

Weird title, I know. But that is how I feel after Easter. For me the Church Year really begins anew at Eastertide. I know that Advent is supposed to be the “New Year” for the Church, but for me it is now. Everything gets wiped in the past with the Resurrection of our Lord. My lack of attention to spiritual things, my lack of personal discipline and piety with regard to prayer and fasting, my sinful thoughts, words, and deeds all swallowed up by the death of Christ, and left in the grave on Easter Sunday.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The New Church Year Has Begun

  1. William Weedon says:

    This month shall be for you the beginning of months… Ex 12:2

  2. Jim Roemke says:

    This is my first time serving the Word and Sacrament during the Pashcal season, but I agree, it feels like all things are new.

  3. Rev'd-Up One says:

    I share in your thoughts. From the tracing of the “new year” on the Paschal Candle at the Saturday Vigil of Easter, it gives me a sense of starting anew and refreshed in and through the great Triduum. Let us always be reminded through the live, suffering, death, and resurrection of Christ, we life in Easter everyday. Alleluia!

Comments are closed.