Bad Day

The heart makes idols out of the strangest things. Take, for instance, my laptop. It has no eyes to see, no ears to hear, and no heart that beats but I sure am attached to it. Today I did something very stupid–I tried to install Ubuntu (a Linux platform) so that I could boot up either in Windows XP or in Linux and guess what happened–I ended up completely replacing Windows XP and erasing my entire hard disk. Apparently I told it to use one partition rather than a separate one. Duh. I didn’t know what I was doing. And guess what else–it wasn’t backed up anywhere. But Ubuntu worked. Small consolation.

The tech guys in Keokuk tried to put Humpty-Dumpty back together again (a.k.a. Windows XP and my hard drive) but to no avail. All documents and files were lost. There is an ever-so-slight chance that when they reformat Windows XP for me some of the files will resurface I am told. But I’m not holding my breath. Thankfully I wasn’t working on any major projects right now. I was just doing it to play around. More time to spend with my darling laptop. So much for that.

So, how did I get idol worship out of all this? Well, I was really, really, really, really, really hoping they’d have it done by closing time today so that I could take it home and start over from scratch again. But it wasn’t done. Heaven help me!–I have to go the entire night without it. And all morning tomorrow. I could just feel my heart melt with frustration. A Catechism lesson for a pastor: What is the first commandment: “You shall have no other gods.” What does this mean? “We should fear, love, and trust in God above all things–including laptops.” Oh yeah, my wife observed me tonight after church walking around aimlessly with my laptop backpack on. Oh, I need help.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bad Day

  1. Bad Ice says:

    YOU HAD A BAD DAY

    Sometimes the system goes on the blink
    And the whole thing turns out wrong
    You might not make it back and you know
    That you could be well oh that strong
    And I’m not wrong

    (yeah…)

    So where is the passion when you need it the most
    Oh you and I
    You kick up the leaves and the magic is lost

    Cause you had a bad day
    You’re taking one down
    You sing a sad song just to turn it around
    You say you don’t know
    You tell me don’t lie
    You work at a smile and you go for a ride
    You had a bad day
    You’ve seen what you like
    And how does it feel for one more time
    You had a bad day
    You had a bad day

Comments are closed.