A New and Interesting Experience

Yesterday I served as an election judge for the Warsaw precinct, Ward 1. My wife had originally been asked by someone, but she deferred to me since she has a nursing infant right now. So I did it. I was there from 5:15 a.m. to 7:45 p.m. At the end of the day, after counting and double counting and triple counting all the ballots in our ward, I rode with another gentleman over to the county courthouse with the sealed box and all the other stuff to deliver it.

This was a very interesting experience. I really did enjoy it actually. The day got long at some points. At different times there was a steady flow of people. I was still able to get some work done on my sermon for Ash Wednesday during the slow times. I enjoyed working with the people in my group. It was mostly older ladies. I had fun gabbing with them. There was only one other gentleman besides myself. We took turns at each station. We enjoyed the all-day snack fest (everyone brought goodies and kept them in the kitchen just off the gymnasium in our community center). Turn out was better than in past years, partially because there was a referendum on our ballots on a deactivation of Warsaw and another junior high (which passed). Illinois primary requires one to choose democratic, republican, non-partisan, or green party ballots, but in the general election they just get one ballot and they can choose whomever they wish regardless of their party affiliation. There were several people who switched parties from the last time they voted.

I am glad that I participated in this. I also get paid $100.00. I would encourage anyone to do this if they get the opportunity. It’s a great way to get to know more people and to show that you care for your community.
About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New and Interesting Experience

  1. Jane says:

    I’ve done this for the past six elections. I enjoy all of it except the getting up to drive across town by 5:45 am. 🙂

Comments are closed.