Like New!

You mac users won’t be interested by this, but Thursday I finally decided to downgrade my Dell laptop from Windows Vista to Windows XP. Vista had some neat features, but waaaayyyy too high maintenance. Sucks battery power like a reef blower on Sponge Bob, has waaayyy too much running in the background, and has some really idiotic security features that make it difficult to use. So, for only $68.00 I had a computer tech put XP on it and it is GREAT! So much better, battery lasts much longer, and in general, is a better computer now. Yay!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Like New!

  1. Dizziness says:

    Wrong-o! We Mac users are interested! We love reading these stories with a large smirk on our faces! 🙂

    Even XP can be debloated further… I’ve used this software (http://www.litepc.com/xplite.html) to get XP to run on old and busted Celeron machines with great success.

    I feel your pain from by-gone years of Windows suffering.

  2. Pastor Beisel says:

    Seriously, this thing is running better than it did brand new–it is like new with a new OS. But I absolutely love it now. Best decision I’ve made this year. Right up there with the decision I made to follow Jesus.

  3. Past Elder says:

    It still amazes me that my old laptop, running ME with 256 migs of RAM, goes faster for general surfing (like hitting my favourite blogs as I am doing now) than my new laptop running Vista with 2 gigs of RAM!

    I never owned a PC with XP but we use it at work and the IT guys say there are no plans to switch! I downloaded some stuff to my older son’s Dell with XP Home last night and wished I had included one for me when I bought the boys theirs!

  4. Jim Roemke says:

    Ok, I want to do this to mine. I HATE Vista. I tried to do it myself and now I can’t use the darned thing at all. Where did you get yours done?

Comments are closed.