A New Blog With Great Potential

I have placed a new blog on my blog roll. It is called Priestmanship and looks to be very promising. Check it out here.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A New Blog With Great Potential

  1. William Weedon says:

    Looks a hoot indeed (and its about time).

  2. Paul T. McCain says:

    Another anonymous blog site by a pastor who lacks the intestinal fortitude to sign his name to what he writes. Not impressive.

  3. necessaryroughness.org says:

    And The Federalist Papers are generally not worth reading because the authors originally wrote with a pseudonym. 😛 Can we just judge the material on its own merits?

  4. Pastor Beisel says:

    I look forward to what the Priestman says. You know, if it were not anonymous, it just wouldn’t have the same effect I think. Sorry Paul–as much as I respect your opinion on all manner of issues, I’m with “necessary roughness” on this one.

  5. Brian P Westgate says:

    That looks kinda like Fr. Curtis actually in the picture . . .

  6. bad ice says:

    don’t forget Poor Richard or Mark Twain.

    But McCain has a point. Beisel cowboy ups and puts himself out there. McCain does the same on his blog.

    I don’t care if priestman or anyone else want to be anonymous. I don’t really see any reason why the p-man is choosing to “remain in an undisclosed location” but it is up to him.

    But Beisel you are out there with your opinion. McCain has a point.

    pete

  7. Anonymous says:

    The anonymous priestman doesn’t put up with anonymous comments…..but you do (you’re a good sport)…..so here goes:

    Overheard Sunday in a LCMS church narthex:

    “Pastors now are cold and harsh with their parishioners.”

    The words were spoken by a lifelong, faithfully attending LCMS member who is worried about the falling attendance at his local church.

    But…..the “pastors now” are simply displaying proper priestman behavior, right?

  8. The Priestman says:

    Dear Anon.,

    I am sorry to hear that you are in a place where the pastor’s behavior has earned him a reputation for being “cold and harsh.” I wish you and him well as you seek him out one on one to bring this complaint to his attention and help him sort it out in a loving and Christian manner.

    However, it is clear that you have misunderstood the art of priestmanship. The idea is to avoid just these problems. Take the first case we discussed http://priestmanship.blogspot.com/2007/12/what-is-priestmanship.html

    Here, Fr. Pressedon found a way to move the congregation toward a more faithful witness that made everyone happy. The congregation and Fr. Pressedon get along very well and he has a reputation for being a loving a faithful pastor. Which is what led him to use a priestmanly approach to the problem.

    At any rate, I am truly sorry you are having problems with your pastor (or if you were just visiting the LCMS parish of which you were speaking, that your friend is). I would encourage you and this person to seek this pastor out and talk with him.

    The Priestman.

  9. Pastor Beisel says:

    Many of us who are zealous for the Truth are not very polished in our manner of presenting it. This can cause the kind of problems that the gentleman was speaking of. I think the Priestman is talking about learning how to accomplish what we would like in the ministry while avoiding some of the pitfalls that such an unpolished manner can lead us into. Hence, I think this is a helpful thing. The priestman actually helped me deal with a problem in my own circuit.

  10. Rev. Eric J Brown says:

    Or to put this lamentable fact in a brief fashion – all too often we think, “I’m right, so I can be a jerk.” Oh, we can be an arrogant lot.

  11. Paul T. McCain says:

    The Rev. Mr. Priestman explained that he will only use his anonymity for good, just like the Justice League. With that assurance in mine, I’m good.

    Plus I found out who he is, so he is no longer anonymous to me, so, there you go.

  12. Lawrence says:

    “Many of us who are zealous for the Truth are not very polished in our manner of presenting it.”

    Thought you were talking about me for a moment.

    With regard to anonymity, I struggle with that also. It simply would not behoove me in my current position to “make a scene”.

    I am, however, reachable and will offer introduction when asked. Most respect my privacy, and those that need to know who I am ask. And when they find out what I do they are generally sympathetic to my anonymity.

    And yes, when I jumping into other people’s blogs like Pr. Beisel I make an effort to at least introduce myself to the blog owner. Which I have done with Pr. Beisel and other blogs I frequent.

Comments are closed.