Matthew 11 and John’s Unbelief

Heretic! That is probably what some are thinking right now after reading my title. How dare you say that John the Baptizer had doubts. No one born of woman was greater than he except, of course Jesus. That must mean that he could not possibly be given to doubt. But here is something to chew on. My brother-in-law Rev. Peter Utecht and fellow Fort Wayne dude was telling me that he preached on this text for an ordination anniversary and one of the points he made was that the greatest sin of pastors is that they don’t believe their own preaching. Not only is he right in this, he also helped me understand why the same John who leapt in his mother’s womb at Mary’s greeting, who declared: “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world,” and who prepared the way of the Lord would send his disciples to ask Jesus if he was the one who was to come or if they should look for another. It doesn’t make sense, that is, until you consider the greatest weakness of every preacher–to doubt their own message. Hopefully my bro-in-law will not mind me using his name on my blog :-/

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Matthew 11 and John’s Unbelief

  1. Rev. Eric J Brown says:

    Do we not have a man in Scripture say, “I believe, help my unbelief”? Does John believe – sure. Does he doubt? I know I probably would if I were in jail. Does he love his disciples and desire that they follow Jesus? Yes. Does Jesus know that John needs to hear the Word preached to him – “Go tell John”.

    It’s not an either or – we are both sinner and saint. Both apply.

  2. bad ice says:

    You forgot winsome! Tell them how winsome I am!!!

    Pete

  3. bad ice says:

    Of course the climax/gospel of the sermon was “the good news is preached to the poor” Franzmann says that the old copyist thought it was a misprint that the climax was “the dead are raised” But nope “the dead are raised and the GOOD NEWS IS PREACHED to the poor”

    Pete

Comments are closed.