If Christ and His Apostles were Visible to us in the Divine Service…

What would we do if Christ were visible, standing before us at the altar? Would we dare walk by Him without acknowledging His presence? How would we treat His Apostles, His chosen servants, if we saw them standing there at His visible and incarnate side? How would we dress to enter His presence? How would we speak to Him?

But He isn’t visible there, and we neglect to ask ourselves these questions.

But just because He isn’t visible doesn’t mean He isn’t there. Christ is present at the altar, and His ministers and people serve at His incarnate side. It is fitting, then, to make the sign of the Holy Cross in remembrance of our baptism when we enter, and again when we are absolved. It is fitting to bow when we come before the altar, the place where He gives us His own Body and Blood in the Holy Sacrament. It is fitting to kneel when we recall the fact that He took on our flesh so that we might have life in Him. We do not do this to call attention to ourselves, we do this because we know that we are in the presence of our incarnate Lord.

This is an excerpt from a marvelous bit of writing by Rev. Deacon David Muehlenbruch, the totality of which can be found here. He really does bring up an excellent point about ceremony. We say we believe that Christ is present with us and among us, but do we act like it? We conduct the liturgy as if everyone were present except Him. Ah, the limitations of our eyes and how wonderful it will be to behold what the angels, archangels, and all the company of heaven see with their own eyes.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Ph.D student at Concordia Seminary in St. Louis. Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If Christ and His Apostles were Visible to us in the Divine Service…

  1. Frank says:

    I see my Lord visibly in the OHM. I also see him visibly in the Sacraments. My eyes are just fine. It is for that reason that every time I have the chance to participate in the Divine Service, I get butterflies.

  2. Pastor Beisel says:

    Frank, the point of the post was not whether or not Christ is present in the Divine Service, but whether His presence moves us to any kind of outward devotion. Christ is not visible but to the eyes of faith.

  3. Frank says:

    I know, I know! I was thinking of my anti-liturgical family members who think Jesus lives far, far away when I wrote that.

  4. Dcn. Muehlenbruch says:

    I thank you for your reference to my writing.

  5. Pastor Beisel says:

    It’s a great piece Rev. Deacon. I’m glad I stumbled upon it. It really made me think!

Comments are closed.