A Fitting Prayer for those who have fallen away from the Church

One of the things I appreciate about using The Brotherhood Prayer Book for daily Morning Prayer and Vespers is that it forces me to be disciplined about praying the Psalms, reading a chapter of the Old and New Testament, and especially making intercession for members of the flock, fellow pastors, family, our civic leaders, the sick, my own needs both spiritual and bodily, and many other things. I also enjoy using the LSB Pastoral Care Companion for the sake of its prayers for different occasions. I wish I was more disciplined than I am. I would probably be even more faithful if I offered daily prayer at the church, which I did for a while, but stopped. As it is, sometimes I go for long spells without using my prayer book, and this I do not like.

One of the prayers that I really love to use, especially for those who have stopped coming to church, or have begun attending another church, is in the Collects section in the back of BPB, entitled: “For Those Who Have Erred.” (I’m sure this was originally taken from TLH)

Almighty, merciful, and gracious God and Father, with our whole heart we beseech Thee for all who have forsaken the Christian faith, all who have wandered from any portion thereof or are in doubt or temptation through those who corrupt Thy Word, that Thou wouldest visit them as a Father, reveal unto them their error, and bring them back from their wanderings, that they, in singleness of heart, taking pleasure alone in the pure truth of Thy Word, may be made wise thereby unto everlasting life through faith in Jesus Christ, Thy Son, our Lord.

I think it is necessary that we pastors work hard to intercede on all levels for the members of our parishes, for our fellow pastors, for our Synod, and remember that God hears the prayers of a righteous man. I would love to be in a position someday to offer daily Matins and Vespers services and have even a couple of people attend on a fairly regular basis.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Fitting Prayer for those who have fallen away from the Church

  1. Paul T. McCain says:

    Ora et labora.

  2. Rev'd-Up One says:

    I here you, Paul. Since coming to the parish I serve, I have offered Matins on a regular basis. Attendance has fluctuated anywhere from 2-8 members. Of late it has only been 2 or 3. It is a joy to sing, pray, read, and prepare a short homily nearly everyday since 2002. However, I miss the others who used to attend on a regular basis. Some I see on Sundays and I don’t see at all. Daily I pray the psalms and collects. This is what we are also called to do. Preaching, teaching, administering the sacraments are the obvious things seen by parishioners, but the praying is done in secret. The Lord inclines His ears to hear the prayers of His children. Do not let your heart be troubled. I would enjoy daily Vespers like yourself, but sometimes situations within a particular parish make it nearly impossible. You do well, my brother, to continue as you are; praying, singing, and feeding.

Comments are closed.