Top 10 Worst Songs to Play During Your Wife’s Labor and Delivery

I’ll start. Johnny Cash–“Ring of Fire” (Let the reader understand). Any takers? Can also be hymns. Let’s have some fun. In case you’re wondering what made me think about this, my wife and I like to have music playing in the delivery room (We’re particularly fond of Rachmaninoff Vespers). I was “dancing” Theodore to sleep the other day to “Ring of Fire” and I suddenly thought of how terrible of a song that would be in the delivery room. I don’t know why, but all the kids love Cash’s songs. Maybe it’s that rythym. Whatever. Let’s think of some good ones!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Top 10 Worst Songs to Play During Your Wife’s Labor and Delivery

  1. Pr. Lehmann says:

    You’ve lost that lovin’ feeling, by the Righteous Brothers

  2. Dan @ Necessary Roughness says:

    “Baby Got Back,” Sir Mix-A-Lot

    🙂

  3. Scott says:

    “Let the Bodies Hit the Floor” by Drowning Pool…

    “Pain” by Three Days Grace…

  4. Rick says:

    – “Patience” by Guns & Roses
    – “Peaceful, Easy Feeling” by the Eagles
    – “Push It” by Salt n Pepa
    – “I Would Die 4 U” by Prince

  5. Der Bettler says:

    I am not making this up:
    When my wife’s doctor told her that she was to be induced that day (three weeks early), as he turned and was walking out of the room, his phone rang. The ringtone? “Let’s Get it On” by Marvin Gaye.

  6. Anonymous says:

    “Hit Me With Your Best Shot
    Why don’t you hit me with your best shot! Hit me with your best shot–FIRE AWAY…….” 🙂

    Rachel

  7. katie says:

    Goin’ to the chapel and we’re
    Gonna get ma-a-ar-ried

  8. Anonymous says:

    Hymn 1 from TLH “Open Wide the Gates of Beauty”

  9. Rev. Eric J Brown says:

    Love Hurts.

    Anything by Big Head Todd and the Monsters.

    Train in Vain by the Clash (in honor of Lamaze)

    “Girl, You Have No Faith in Medicine” by the White Stripes

    And personally, I think “Walking on Sunshine” would just cause me, if I were a woman in labor, to beat someone.

  10. katie says:

    Yes. Upside the head.
    As would ‘Feelings’, ‘Don’t Worry, Be Happy’
    How about some Dylan? ‘Lay, Lady, Lay’

  11. katie says:

    Then when it’s over, how about ‘For All the Saints Who From Their Labors Rest’?

  12. Lawrence says:

    “All Hell’s Breaking Loose” – Kiss

    “The Hardest Part” – Blondie

    “Wide Open Spaces” – Dixie Twits

    “Living With A Hernia” – Weird Al Yankovich

    “Suffer Well” – Depeche Mode

    “Stiff Upper Lip” – AC/DC

    “Physical” – Olivia Newton-John

    “Whip It”- Devo

    “Can’t Get Enuff” – Winger
    (This just shouldn’t be played, anywhere, ever, for any reason.)

    “London Bridge” – Fergie
    (Another on that shouldn’t be played, ever.)

    “She Bangs” – Ricky Martin, or William Hung
    (And another on that shouldn’t ever be played, ever.)

    “I Need a Man” – Eurythmics

    “My Last Yeehaw: – Cowboy Troy
    (or Anything by Cowboy Troy)

    “The Harder They Come” – Willie Nelson

    “The Silence is Broken: – Damn Yankees

    “Don’t Cha” -Pussycat Dolls
    (Don’t cha wish your girlfriend was hot like me…)

    “More Where That Came From” – Dolly Parton

    “The Perfect Drug” – Nine Inch Nails.

    “Ass Like That” – Eminem

    “Die Another Day” – Madonna

    “When The Levee Breaks” – Led Zeppelin

    “Naked Women & Beer” – Hank Williams Jr.

    “Why Don’t We Get Drunk” – Jimmy Buffet

    “Relax” – Frankie Goes to Hollywood

    “Legs” – ZZ Top

  13. Lawrence says:

    Sorry. I didn’t mean to kill the thread.

  14. Anonymous says:

    “I Feel Pretty”-West Side Story.

    Also not a good choice during the first six weeks of your child’s life, when you are up at least every two hours during the night, every night.

    Not that I am bitter. 😉

    Carla T.

  15. Stephanie says:

    You have all forgotten the absolute, WORST possible song:

    “She’s Havin’ my Baby” by Paul Anka. BARFF!

Comments are closed.