The Best Compliment

The other day I received the best compliment a pastor can receive (I think). Not that I’m looking for compliments, but this one was good because it came as a total surprise. There is a couple that has come to church with their little girls several times as they were trying to help their father out. This couple has a Presybterian/Mennonite background, but I could tell that they take God’s Word seriously. They knew they could not come to communion, but they choose to come to our church anyway when they visit because they appreciate the teaching of God’s Word there. We’ve had some good conversations after church and one time I even gave them a copy of Concordia: The Lutheran Confessions because he was asking if I had any writings where the Lutherans were defending their position on the Lord’s Supper against their Zwinglian adversaries. I gave it to them because I knew that of all people, they most likely would benefit from it. I think they live in Indiana somewhere. Last time they came, my organist informed me, they left a sizeable donation to the church, with a note attached saying: “Thank you for being a beacon of light in Keokuk in the faithful preaching of God’s Word.” Does it get any better than that?

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Best Compliment

  1. Rev'd-Up One says:

    Paul,

    It is obvious in your sermons that you are a faithful pastor and teacher.

    I also received a compliment. It was unexpected. An elder of the church told me, “Pastor, you just don’t know how many people really listen to you.”

    Continue in you duty, good and faithful servant.

    Kress

Comments are closed.