A Dry Well

I don’t know what it is this week but I am a dry well. I do not know what to say in my sermon for Quinquagesima. I have stared long and hard at the text, and my blank Word document, and written about a paragraph. Nothing I type seems to please me. I do not even feel motivated to do this task, or any other of any consequence for that matter. I have had weeks like this before. I probably need to get off my rear and do something vocational (like change a diaper, or read a book to one of my kids, or take out the trash). Usually listening to the Lord of the Rings Soundtrack will get the juices flowing, but that did not even help today. Ugh!

What am I supposed to say? Sometimes it all just feels like a big waste of time.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Dry Well

  1. Lincoln - BoW says:

    Of course it’s a big waste of time. Except that, “My word will not return to me void. It shall accomplish the task for which I send it.”

    I. As for the Gospel reading :
    Js, Son of David, have mercy on Me. (Kyrie)

    II. Death of Christ as means by which that happens.

    III. Talking about the Gospel is not the same as actually proclaiming it.

    Good luck. If that doesn’t work, loook at Garhard’s Examination of the History of the Suffering and Death of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    If that doesn’t work, I’ll email you my sermon from last year.

    +INJ+

    Lincoln
    BoW

    PS. Sometimes, if I come up dry I will type up the text reference and the word “luther” into google. Any number of sermons come up, riddled with heresy. Nothing gets me to see what the important part of the reading is like seeing how it is distorted.

  2. Lawrence says:

    Ah… Pastor’s Block.

    But never a Dry Well.

    You’ve just had a busy week. Take a couple hours off, go do something fun.

  3. Paul T. McCain says:

    Isn’t it a terrible feeling? Been there, done that!

    1) You will get through it. Your head knows that. Your heart needs a bit of persuading.

    2) Watch the Luther movie and get fired up again about how important the Gospel is in the Church and how freeing it is.

    3) Ora et labora.

    Blessings in Christ!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Paul, you speak well. Speak more!

  5. Pastor H.R. Curtis says:

    In a lot of Petersen’s sermons you can tell that this is the point he’s written from. I’ve tried to immitate that when I’ve had a lousy, depressing, beating-my-head-against-the-wall-to-no-avail week.

    Read this and see what I mean: http://www.redeemer-fortwayne.org/blog.php?msg=3756

    +HRC

  6. Anonymous says:

    Winter blahs……just need some sun and warmer, Springtime weather. Your brain’s in a deep-freeze–hibernation. 🙂
    Bloggersis

  7. Dakota ice says:

    Paul,
    Was there oil and flour in the barrel again?

    Pete

  8. Pastor Beisel says:

    I wrote the last 2/3 of my sermon in fifteen minutes this morning. I’m not saying that it was a stellar manuscript. But at least I had something to say.

Comments are closed.