2nd Annual Beisel Oktoberfest A Rousing Success

We had our second annual Beisel Oktoberfest last night and I must say that I was pleased. The only disappointment was that it was a little too cold to go and sit outside. Last year we had it early enough that lot’s of people sat outside and enjoyed the weather. Not a problem though. We comfortably fit about 39 people in the parsonage, who enjoyed excellent Bratwurst, German beer, Amy’s German Potato Salad, and many other goodies. We were graced with the presence of some of the local pastors from Quincy, IL and even from Fairfield, IA (Mark Brase and his wife). I wore a rigged up German style costume, and drank Einbecker beer all night. Einbecker is a very Lutheran beer, by the way. Luther is quoted as saying: “Ohne Einbeck, kein es Bockbier” (Without Einbeck, there would be no bockbeer.” Check out the Einbecker website if you don’t believe me! A good time was had by all.

It went much smoother this year too. Last year, I was cooking bacon at 4:00 p.m. for the German Potato Salad because Amy was at the doctor with Lizzy, who would not stop throwing up. One of the guests had to take over at the grill for me while I went to get ice for the beer. It was a mess (still fun though). This year, Amy and Mom Beisel had everything under control. The German Potato Salad was warming in a roaster all afternoon, and everything was ready before the guests arrived. I was actually able to mingle and interact this time.

The Bratwurst was provided by Sonny’s Market in Westpoint, IA. GREAT STUFF! I look forward to next year.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2nd Annual Beisel Oktoberfest A Rousing Success

  1. Anonymous says:

    That’s Einbecker ur-Bock…real Einbecker. There are memories attached to that beer. Nice!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Sorry…meant to sign it, jdart

  3. Pastor Beisel says:

    Yes indeed, many memories I would say. We had Einbecker Ur-bock and Einbecker Dunkel here the other night. We also had Several varieties of Oktoberfest beer, like Leinenkugels, Schlafly, and Goose Island. I let everyone drink out of my German beer steins, one of which I believe I got from a Berlin Bier-Garten in your presence, sir. 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    Yeah, er, I also received such a stein…and a shot glass, if memory (and my personal collection) serves. Funny, American beer doesn’t generally come in quantities that get you all the way to the line.

    One day some of us should repeat those tours, just for kicks. At present we can supply a B2, an A1, and a healthy schneider.

    Peace,

    jdart

Comments are closed.