Quincy Tennis Tourney – TOURNAMENT UPDATE!

Tomorrow (Saturday, August 5) I am playing in the Quincy area Tennis Tournament. It should be fun, but I’m not expecting too much out of myself since I have only played competitively off and on for a number of years now. Ever since I left college where I played for four years I just haven’t had the opportunity to hit very much. Still, I feel good. I have been going out to hit against the wall at the local courts several times this summer, and I have the feel of the court again. I hope that tomorrow I can at least stay loose and have a good time. I’ll post the results tomorrow sometime. I should get to play at least two matches-double eliminations.

(By the way, this is not a picture of me, but of someone else in last year’s Quincy Tennis tournament).

Tournament Update: I lost my first match 0-6, 1-6. I know, sounds pretty bad. But I am out of shape and out of practice. Plus, I broke the string on my first raquet doing warm-up serves. Although I was used to my other raquet, the stringing was a little different and I just wasn’t able to get the same feel for it that I had with my other. My second match (in the loser’s bracket) I played a guy 10 years younger than myself. I played much better in this match, and absolutely destroyed his serve a few times, crushing my forehand down the line. If I could have gotten my first serve in more than 40% of the time, I probably would have taken more points. Nevertheless, he won. But was impressed with the heavy hitting I had done on occasion. So, bottom line, I got to play two matches for $15.00. Not bad. Give me another 30 of those and I might actually start winning some 🙂 Now, I am exhausted and sore. These 31 year-old muscles need to get more exercise than they do now. Still, I was moving pretty darn good for not having played competitively for a long time. I slept all afternoon, when I was supposed to be finishing my sermon and the bulletins. Oh well.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.