A Thoughtful Child

I usually try to go golfing on Monday mornings. I’m not very good at it, but I enjoy it nevertheless. It’s not my first choice of sport, but since I can rarely find someone to play tennis with, this must suffice. There is a golf course along the Mississippi River that charges $15.00 for 18 holes with cart before 10:00 a.m. and after 4:00 p.m. every weekday. Still, this morning I decided not to go because we just didn’t have the money for an extra like that this week. No problem. There’s always next week, I thought.

I had gone into Keokuk to pick up a few things for the kids, medicine for our two youngest who picked up some kind of flu. When I got home, my eldest daughter, Susan, was all excited and wanted to show me something. On her bed, she had counted out all the change that was in the container on my dresser, and came up with $15.00 so that I could go golfing. I was really taken by surprise. It was very thoughtful and sweet. So, this afternoon, I went and played, horribly so, but played nevertheless.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.