We’re back!

Vacation is officially over. We got back last night at around 11:00 p.m. I was really glad we got to stop through at my mother’s place in Pittsburg, KS. In addition, I got to see a few of my home town friends. One of my friends that I saw is a patent lawyer and he and his family are moving to Boston for a year while his wife works on a masters at Harvard under a fellowship. She just graduated from med school in Chicago. It was nice to see them. I also got to visit with another friend from our class who is recovering from brain cancer. He had a tumor the size of a tennis ball on his brain that was malignant. He has been taking chemo treatments and radiation, and is doing much better. He has been allowed to drive again, although he still has a hard time getting some words out.

All in all it was a great vacation. Had a relaxing time down at Amy’s parents’ house in West Texas. Played a lot of ping pong, went golfing, and swam. Now it is back to reality again. Tomorrow I have a voter’s meeting in the afternoon, leave for Springfield, IL for District Convention. Tuesday after convention we have voters’ meeting at the other congregation in the evening. Wednesday we have to take Martin to Iowa City to have his legs looked at (they are turned in pretty bad and his left leg sort’ve swivels when he runs. Poor little guy. Doesn’t seem to bother him though). Thursday I have to get my other front tooth recapped (long story). Friday we have a farewell dinner for a very winsome pastor in our circuit, Mark Eddy who has accepted a call. I will be sad to see him go, since he has always been a very faithful voice in our circuit meetings.

Thankfully our kitty cat “Smokey” was just fine. I think she had meowed so much while we were gone that her voice was hoarse when we got there. All things are in order. Time to check our mail, and pay bills.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We’re back!

  1. FatherDMJ says:

    Aw, come on, Pastor Beisel. Let’s hear that fascinating story about why you need your tooth recapped.

    I was there when it all went down. Talk about freak accidents!

  2. Pastor Beisel says:

    In 1998, beginning of my second year at sem, a bunch of us were hanging out in the lounge of the dorm. I went downstairs to use the bathroom, and walking out of the door, I turned, and my foot slipped out behind me (water on my shoe no doubt) and I fell forward on the hard floor. My chest hit, and then my head snapped forward, chipping my two front teeth off half way. It didn’t hurt, bleed, or anything. That week I had to get the teeth capped.

    Recently, in fact, right before we left for vacation, I bit down too hard on my front teeth and one of them broke off. I had to get in and have it redone. We decided to get the other one done too before it comes off. These are much better. No more line. And thats…the rest of the story.

  3. Lawrence says:

    Welcome back.

  4. Exothermic says:

    Great seeing y’all…

    Looking forward to the canoe trek in Missour-uh…

    More later buddy

Comments are closed.