Hotlinking?

Does anyone know what hotlinking is? Whatever it is, it is apparently not allowed. The two most recent posts I deleted because the links that I had to .pdf documents I had created and placed on another hosting website (www.420megs.com) suddenly won’t work anymore. It says: “Hotlinking is not allowed.” It worked just fine for about a week.

UPDATE: Okay, I went to the 420megs.com website and this is what they say about hotlinking, which I didn’t know: “What is Hotlinking? Hotlinking means storing an image on one web account and linking to it from another web site. This is also referred to as Image hosting. Some users wish to have their images available to link to other web pages such as eBay or from their discussion boards. This site prevents this type of use, as our primary purpose is to provide web hosting.”

If you want to view the documents I originally had linked here, you may see them here.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hotlinking?

  1. Preachrboy says:

    A great site for hosting free images, that I use all the time, is Imageshack.us

    there are others too…

    of course, you can upload them through Blogger too…

  2. Pastor Beisel says:

    Thanks. I know you can do images through blogger, but you cannot do documents, at least not that I know of. If you know how to create links to documents in blogger, let me know. I’ll look into the one that you provided.

  3. Preachrboy says:

    A site I have used for “other files” besides images is Filelodge.com

    But again, there are numerous options out there.

Comments are closed.