Ascension Day…1994: a personal note

Aside from the extreme theological significance and importance this day has for the Church, it also holds a special place for me personally. Twelve years ago on Ascension Day (during the Divine Service actually) I decided to join the pre-seminary program in the fall at Concordia Seward and pursue the Office of the Holy Ministry. After our service that evening (we were on choir tour) I remember calling my parents up and saying, “Guess what…I’m taking Greek next year.” They were thrilled. I think my father may have shed a tear or two (His father was also a pastor). It was a joyous occasion, and I remember it well. What caused me to make that decision? There was no special revelation. I was listening to the sermon and thought, “I want to do that.”

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ascension Day…1994: a personal note

  1. sam says:

    Happy “Decision Date” Anniversary!

    And look you survived Professors Block and Meehl!

  2. Pastor Beisel says:

    Thanks. It was the day I “decided to follow Jesus” 🙂

  3. brother-in-law says:

    No way!! I used the exact same words to tell my dad.

    Congrats

    Pete

  4. Lawrence says:

    I always enjoy hearing people relate their decision to follow the path to ordination.

    I had considered this early in my career. Called the sem, and talked with people there. I actually had a start date in mind. Then that very next week I recieved a great and unexpected career advancement opportunity.

    I came to realize that my desire for sem was not one of calling, but one of desperation. As such, I think it would have been a mistake for me to pursue that path. But I certainly respect those who do.

Comments are closed.