Von Trapp Grandchildren

Tonight I am taking my family to Fairfield, IA to hear the Von Trapp Family Grandchildren in concert. For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, the von Trapp family was the Austrian family that escaped Austria during the German “Anschluss” that the “Sound of Music” was about. Their grand children apparently tour now just as they did and we get to hear them in Iowa tonight, thanks to our Keokuk Concert Association membership! We might be getting together with fellow classmate Mark Brase and his family who live in Fairfield.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Von Trapp Grandchildren

  1. Rev. Benjamin Mayes says:

    I’m impressed with the number of cultural events you and your family attend. I’ve lived for almost 3 years in Grand Rapids, and I haven’t done all that much. Sad, huh?

  2. Pastor Beisel says:

    It is purely through our membership with the Keokuk Concert ASsociation. I guess we are more intent on exposing ourselves and our children to these kind of events because there is nothing else like that around here. It is our way of feeling like we are connected to something bigger (culturally speaking).

  3. FatherDMJ says:

    I should’ve read this sooner so I could have you wish the Brase family my warmest regards!

  4. Anita Wright says:

    Hello-
    what an exciting opportunity. I’d love to hear about it on your return.

    Pastor Mayes-We’ve lived in South bend for 3 years now (from GR, infact you may know my parents, P & L Lueders;) ) and we have found little time or opportunity to get out. It’s such a shame with the beautiful ND campus just down the road too!

  5. Pastor Beisel says:

    We thoroughly enjoyed watching it. The children loved it, especially Susan and Lizzy. They were both huge Sound of Music fans, and so they recognized a lot of the songs. At the end they sang “Edelweiss” and let the audience join in. They did a lot of other music too besides Sound of Music, but they were really talented. Four children (the Great Grandchildren, actually, of Captain von Trapp) the oldest being 17. Really entertaining, and fun to watch. I recommend it if you get the chance.

Comments are closed.