Why I Love Easter

Every year I am always glad when Easter arrives. It’s not just that I am worn out from all the Lent and Holy Week services. But it is an annual reminder that there is a point to what we are doing. Easter is a reminder to me as a pastor that all the work that I put into the ministry is not pointless and futile. That is what it often seems like. It’s not like a farmer, who gets to see the fruits of his labors within a summer’s time. But so often, particularly during Lent, I simply lose faith in the Word of God. I don’t know why it is. Call it unbelief. But by the time I get to Holy Week I am pretty much feeling like an unbeliever. I am convinced that no one else really takes their faith seriously, at least not nearly as seriously as me 🙂 (Yeah, I’m such a great Christian!) and I am basically in a foul mood the whole time. Then Easter comes. Suddenly all unbelief and lack of motivation flees. God is real. Jesus lives. I am no longer just going through the motions. Easter gives validation to everything that I am doing, preaching, saying, and thinking. It also gives meaning to suffering and affliction. Good Friday means that God has made atonement for my sins. But for me, Easter means God is real. Christianity is not just a sham. When I celebrate the Sacrament, Christ really is present. When I pray Jesus really does hear me. When I preach, Christ really is speaking. Whether or not I see the results, the fruits of my labor, at least I can say with Job: “I know that my Redeemer lives.”

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why I Love Easter

  1. Father Hollywood says:

    Paul:

    I think I know what you mean. Holy Week has been a blur, as the senior pastor had to take the whole week off due to complications from his recovery from surgery. I was put in charge of all Holy Week services and sermons at the last minute – along with all of my other responsibilities at school.

    I’m not complaining, but it has been a whirlwind of tiring activity – with the added burden of two people in the hospital to visit and bring the Sacrament – one of whom is on his deathbed with his large family around him.

    I used the word “burden” deliberately – not merely because it is a lot of work, but because it is a cross to bear, by virtue of our office. Now that Holy Week is over, school starts again, and my parishioners are still in the hospital. I’m exhausted – with no end in sight. I’m making more than one trip to the hospital a day.

    The point is that no matter how we feel, how run down, discouraged, tired, or frustrated we are – the Lord continues to do his miraculous work through His unworthy servants. The fact that I am able to pray the Psalms, forgive sins, offer the Holy Sacrament, and sing hymns with a family in distress doesn’t make me happy or “Ablaze” with good feelings – but it does demonstrate that our work is not in vain – because it isn’t our work, but truly the Lord’s work. It’s not about me, my skills, my words, my anything. It’s all about Christ and His work.

    It’s humbling, and yet a great privilege. I really love these people, and their burdens are my burdens. If anyone thinks the ministry is easy work – think again. But if anyone thinks it is thankless work, think again.

    We minister in the name of a Risen and Victorious Lord!

    Christ is Risen!

  2. organshoes says:

    We simply can’t be grateful enough, neither to pastors or for pastors.
    We who depend upon you have such a bumpy realization of the depth of that dependency–up and down, unpredictably, as needs arise and wills and bodies and worlds-unpredictably-fall.
    Even the lukewarm expect it all to be there, when we deign to attend.
    Anyways, we thank God for faithful pastors, who stoop to us at the rail, with Christ for us. We can find Him nowhere else. It must be an awesome task–an awesome load–and an awesome life.
    At Easter, maybe even the lukewarm at the rail know that they didn’t come just because it’s Easter, but for Easter, and know there’s nowhere else to get Easter, but from the hands of a pastor.
    It’s awesome, how ageless that all is!
    You do not work in vain, gentle men.

  3. Lawrence says:

    In many respects Easter really is the start of the new year for us, if we think about it.

    It’s a lot like getting everyone all back up on the starting line, and heading off on the relatively same step.

    We don’t all stay in step, and some trail off on tangents, but come Easter time many things draw people back on the path.

Comments are closed.