A Daily Call to Repentance

For those of you who have and use the Brotherhood Prayer Book on a regular basis, you might be able to resonate with what I am going to say in this post. (If you don’t know what I am talking about, check out www.llpb.us).

One of the features that I like about this prayer book is that in almost every one of the daily hymns (pp. 265 ff.) there is a prayer in some form for help against sin or for relief from sins committed. Here are a few examples:

Monday at Vespers: from Immense caeli Conditor

v. 3 “E’en so on us who seek thy face / Pour forth the waters of thy grace;/ Renew the fount of life within,/ And quench the wasting fires of sin.”

Tuesday at Morning Prayer: from Ales diei nuntius.

v. 4. Do thou, O Christ, our slumbers wake;/ Do thou the chains of darkness break;/ Purge thou our former sins away,/ And in our souls new light display.

Tuesday at Vespers: from Telluris ingens Conditor

v. 4 “Let every soul Thy law obey,/ And keep from ev’ry evil way;/ Rejoice each promised good to win/ And flee from every mortal sin.”

I guess I appreciate this daily call to repentance because each day I am tempted anew to fall into sins old and new. As I sing these hymns to myself, it reminds me to put off the old nature with all of its sins and evil lusts and desires and with God’s help to put on the new man who is full of righteousness and holiness. I’m not saying that it keeps me from sinning, but it constantly returns me to baptism where God began His work of sanctifying me. Of course, each hymn also does a great job proclaiming the source of our life, Jesus Christ and His suffering and death. Thanks to Ben Mayes and Michael Frese for bringing out “treasures new and old” in this book.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.